1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 11, 2016 6:23 PM by dsackett

[CS 5.5] [JS] copying a graphic page item between documents

dsackett Level 1

Hi, I'm still learning scripting, and am wrestling with what's probably a simple problem for someone more knowledgable. The task is to copy text & graphics from a couple pages of an one document to another based on a similar template. The text frame and graphics frames are named. I was able to get the text part, but I'm stuck on how to address & paste into a graphics frame.

At this point, I got the graphics to copy, but it doesn't quite work because the duplicate method only allows for a target of an array of 2 Units, Spread, Page or Layer, and the source document positions are slightly different, and copying the graphic only leaves out the frame's necessary styling. I really would like to paste into the page item, but the method for duplicating text differs. Any tips on approaching this? Should I instead select the graphic & paste it into the new document? How would I accomplish the equivalent of Paste Into?

An excerpt of my code so far:

var docPages = docRef.pages.everyItem().getElements();
      var cemwpsP1 = 3;
      var newWPS = createWPS(templatePath, wpsTemplateName, wpsFileName, wpsSaveFolder);
      var graphsRE = new RegExp (/graph/i);
      var textsRE = new RegExp (/body|chart/i);

var srcPage = docPages[cemwpsP1];
      var wpsPage = newWPS.pages[0];
      for (i = srcPage.pageItems.length -1; i >=0; i--) {
       var pi = srcPage.pageItems[i];
       if ( pi.name.match(textsRE) ) {
       // copy the text element
       pi.texts[0].duplicate(LocationOptions.AT_BEGINNING, wpsPage.pageItems.itemByName(pi.name)); 
       }
       if ( pi.name.match(graphsRE) ) {
       // it's a graphic element
       // still stumped here! only copies to to the same coordinates on the new page...
       pi.allGraphics.duplicate(wpsPage);
       }
      }

• 1. Re: [CS 5.5] [JS] copying a graphic page item between documents