19 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2016 8:56 AM by dj_paige

How to configure Lightroom to monitor folders, automatically import

Stefan.Aalten-Voogd Level 1

Hi,

I'm just getting started with Lightroom, so please excuse the newbie question.

All my pictures are on an external hard drive, in the J:/Pictures folder.

What do I need to do in Lightroom so that any new pictures added to this folder are automatically added ("imported") to the Lightroom library/database? i.e. does Lightroom "monitor" folders in the background for any new pictures?

Many thanks.

Stefan

• 1. Re: How to configure Lightroom to monitor folders, automatically import
          dj_paige Level 9

There is limited capability in Lightroom to do this.

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/import-photos-automatically.html

In the case where you are adding photos into existing folders with existing photos, you'd have to import the photos yourself.

Since you are just starting out, I recommend a different approach, one that is simpler and less prone to human errors. When you return to your computer with new photos in your camera, import them ALL into Lightroom in one operation in which the photos are put into folders named by capture date. This way, there is never an issue that photos are not in Lightroom and you have forgotten to import them. Once imported, you can do whatever organizing is needed, such as assigning keywords and other metadata to your photos.

• 2. Re: How to configure Lightroom to monitor folders, automatically import
            Chetna Srivastava Adobe Employee

Hi Stefan,

You need to go to Import window in Lightroom > choose your source of import as the Pictures folder on J:\ drive > choose Add at top (so that the original location is recognized by Lightroom) > hit Import.

New Pictures would not be imported automatically. You will have to manually import new images.

You can refer these tutorials :

Products | Lightroom | Adobe TV