10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2016 10:44 AM by PaulaG245

importing photo from desktop

PaulaG245

Hi, I am new to Lightroom. I have used it only a hand full of times. I recently imported a few photos from a folder on my MAC laptop without issue. The way I did this was by following this simple procedure... Open lightroom (or course) make sure Library tab is open, Go to FILE IMPORT PHOTO, Select Source - Desktop Folder with picture in it. Click IMPORT. Then open Develop mode and start editing. Now that seemed easy enough, however, after I finished working on a few photos and saved them in new folder on my desktop, I then closed out of Lightroom, then decided there was another picture I wanted to bring into Lightroom and work it. That's where I had problems. When I reopened Lightroom again it opened up right to the Library again with the original few pictures I worked on earlier and no way, no how could I figure out how to start from scratch using the above mentioned way of importing a new photo. I tried for 2 hrs. I am embarrassed to say. I went in and out of lightroom numerous times, I rebooted my laptop a few times and each and overtime it brought me back to the same area of Library. Also with different finagling I was able to find all the different file folders on my desk top with my photos but absolutely NOTHING happened when I clicked on any of them. I don't know why this program has to be so difficult just to import a photo into it. Very frustrated at this point. Can someone help me by giving detailed advice as to how to fix this. I have manuals, looked at videos and none of them have been able to help me because the program opens up in a different way than any of that info describes. I've only used the program 5-6 times and this is a first time this has happened. Thanking the group in advance for any help you can offer.

Paula

• 1. Re: importing photo from desktop
          Mrinmay Majhi Adobe Employee

Hi Paula,