2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2016 6:51 AM by michaelgostan

Lightroom freezes up whenever I add a folder to my catalogue that contains a .mov or .avi video file

michaelgostan

I'm an amateur photographer and I recently installed Lightroom 2015.3 with Camera Raw 9.3.  I'm running LR on a brand new Macbook Pro, and my photos are saved on a Sinology DS413 NAS. 

I'm in the process of adding my photo collection to a new LR catalog.  The adds go nice and smooth until I get to a folder that contains a .mov or .avi file.  Once I get to a folder that contains one of those, the thumbnails don't show up in the preview screen.  If I try to run the import, the process hangs indefinitely.  I can cancel the import, but the program then becomes unresponsive, I have to do a Force Quit, then restart. 

I know there are a few forums that already have this question on them, but I haven't seen any answers from Adobe or other users that actually resolve the problem.  I contacted Adobe via chat, and the agent refused to help me once he found out I was still on the 30 day trial of LR.  (Basically no help unless I shell out the $$.)  The agent told me to post my question in a new forum and I'd be answered, so I'm giving it a shot.

Any takers?

• 1. Re: Lightroom freezes up whenever I add a folder to my catalogue that contains a .mov or .avi video file
          deepakg1988 Adobe Employee

Hi,

1. First please make sure that the QuickTime is updated to the latest version.

2.Open Lightroom Preferences and click on the File Handling tab.

Lightroom Fanatic - Lightroom Preferences - File Handling

Then go to Lightroom Preferences – File Handling

1. At the bottom of the File Handling options, find the Video Cache Settings.
          2. Click the Purge Cache button.
          3. Close the Preferences dialog.
          4. Close Lightroom.
          5. Launch Lightroom.

Thanks

• 2. Re: Lightroom freezes up whenever I add a folder to my catalogue that contains a .mov or .avi video file