7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 10:00 AM by JasmineJasmine

Suggestion for new PC hardware

webtechy5 Level 1

Hi all,

I am a web developer who uses Microsoft Visual Studio 2013, who also spends a large part of the day in Adobe PhotoShop and increasingly I suspect Adobe After Effects (2014/2015). I also occasionally use AutoCAD. As I think Adobe After Effects will be the highest spec requirements, I am after a new PC that will render my productions quicker. My budget is around 2000 GBP (3000 USD).

Within After Effects, I use the following plugins for example:

Optical Flares (VIDEO COPILOT | After Effects Tutorials, Plug-ins and Stock Footage for Post Production Professionals)

Audio React Tunnel Music Equalizer (Audio React Tunnel Music Visualizer - After Effects Project Files | VideoHive)

Trapcode Particular 3D (https://www.redgiant.com/products/trapcode-particular/) (possibly in the future)

Party Creator Toolkit Template (Party Creator Toolkit - After Effects Project Files | VideoHive)

Currently I use a MacBook Air Core i7-4650U CPU @ 1.70 GHz 2.30 GHz with 8GB RAM and an SSD, and I RDP to a Microsoft Azure virtual machine for heavy Visual Studio development. However, for Adobe After Effects, trying to edit videos over the web wouldn't be very good I suspect for real time rendering.

I'm a little out of touch on the latest spec's of chips etc. But my thinking is:

Corsair Obsidian 750D full ATX case

Asus X99-Deluxe (Intel X99) - 10xUSB3/2xUSB2 (as I have lots of USB devices)

Fastest clocked i7 CPU (3GHz+) I can afford, with ideally 6 or 8 cores

- Intel Core i7 5930K Extreme (6 x 3.5 GHZ) - Turbo 6 x 3.7 GHZ) OVERCLOCKED UPTO 4.4 GHZ

Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Advanced Liquid Cooling)

1 SSD for OS (500GB), 1 SSD for Media (500GB)

- 2 x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD SATA-III, Read 540MB/s, Write 520MB/s - Silent

32 GB or 64 GB RAM if cost allows

- Crucial 64GB 2133MHz (8x8GB) - (DDR4)