1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 10, 2016 5:32 PM by wobertc

Lightoom 5 on Windows PC.  For some reason I have seven Catalogs named "Lightroom 5 catalog" and one named "Lightroom 5 Catalog (2)."  The "Lightroom 5 Catalogs (2)" will not work and only one of the "Lightroom 5 Catlaogs" work and show my most recent up

josephb4632797
      1. Hi.

I’m relatively new to Lightroom compared to many
      photographers.  I believe Lightroom 5.7
      is my latest version or update.  I use a
      Windows compatible version.  I was an
      idiot and allowed myself to be schemed into allowing a person claiming to be an
      iolo rep. remote access of my CPU when they claimed I was being hacked.  Long story short:  They left me with my CPU inoperable and I
      needed to wipe my system clean to have any use of it.  Luckily had use an external backup.  It was a real nightmare to say the least.

I recently had McAfee help me with some issues I was
      having.  One of the problems I was
      having, and I’m not sure that it is related, was that every time I’d load a CD
      or DVD into my drive, auto-play would try to open Lightroom.   After correcting the problem I got
      suspicious and checked Lightroom by trying to open the desktop link.  Upon doing so I got a message saying:  Confirm
      error message – Lightroom cannot use the catalog named “Lighhtroom 5 Catalog
      (2)”
      [at other times it would just say “Lightroom
      Catalog”
      ] because it is not writable
      and cannot be opened
      This could be caused by incorrect
      permissions or because another Lightroom application is using the catalog.  You may try to correct the problems or you
      may select a different catalog. 
      The
      following three options as buttons below the message in the dialog box:   Choose
      a different catalog, try again,
      and
      exit. 
      Other times I use the desk top