5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2009 7:02 AM by Newsgroup_User

Targeting Parent Components in Flex

released87
      Hi,

I am pretty new to Flex (< 2 weeks), and I have started building a new site. I have basically created a Hiearchy of mxml components and actionscript classes. I am using the following classes for this issue:

AS Class: store.classes.Products
      Parent (Flex MXML Component): store.visual.main.main_products
      Component View 1 (Flex MXML Component): store.visual.main.products.products_list
      Component View 2 (Flex MXML Component): store.visual.main.products.products_details

I am trying to figure out how I can target the parent component, particularly the ViewStack, to create a method in my Products class that can be used to switch the two child views; the list view and the details view.

I am really looking for an explanation of how I can communicate between child/parent Flex components with the same Data and Classes. In Flash I could use something like _root.main.products_main.ViewStack.selectedChild= productObject.product_Level; to change the stack.

Help would be greatly appreciated...
        • 1. Re: Targeting Parent Components in Flex
          Mainmanian Level 1
          I have used a means of communication between teh parent component and the child class that has worked for me quite well.

I call the child class passing in the parent component's controls or components. For instance, from the init() (called by creationComplete())of the parent component, i send in the parent component's canvas or another component that is defined in the parent.

HTH, Ramesh
          • 2. Re: Targeting Parent Components in Flex
            Garyl Woolworth Level 1
            Well to start you off with the lingo change from Flash to Flex you can think of what used to be _root as Application.