11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2016 7:07 AM by dj_paige

Why is my RAW file removed from the library grid after Conversion to DNG?

MrDSR

Hi I'm new to LR and need to understand if this is standard behaviour.

My objective was simply to convert a native RAW file to DNG and have both files in the catalogue and visible in the same library.

I imported a bunch of native RAW files + JPEGs into my catalog (as separate files). I did this from inside LR.

Then I selected and Converted a RAW file to DNG (using Library, Convert to DNG, with "Delete Originals after successful conversion" DESELECTED)

Unexpectedly, the RAW file (.ORF in this case) is removed from the library Grid view. A new DNG file appears in the Library view, as anticipated.

I expected that the .ORF RAW file would remain and the new DNG would be added, i.e. that I would see both files.

BTW I have Filters Off.

In alarm I viewed the folder with Explorer (inside LR) and (to my relief) the folder contains the RAW .ORF, the JPEG plus the new DNG

Suspecting that the RAW file was removed from my catalogue - I tried to Import the RAW .ORF again.

Using Import - I can view the RAW file, but it is greyed out. And gives me the message "Appears to be a duplicate of another photo already in the catalog".

Since I DESELECTED "Delete Originals after successful conversion" I expected them to stay visible in the Library.

Seems I have done something wrong or I am misinterpreting the process. Is this normal behaviour ?

Also, how do I get the RAW file back into the Library View now that LR tells me it is already in the catalog ?

• 1. Re: Why is my RAW file removed from the library grid after Conversion to DNG?
          DdeGannes Adobe Community Professional

Lightroom is operating as designed.

I do not believe there is any option to retain both the original raw and the dng in the same catalog. Maybe changing the name of one of them is an option to consider.

Explain what you are trying to achieve?