8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2016 11:45 AM by Stefan Gruenwedel

add text

f3arl37664746

Hello Everyone, I am new to after effects.. i am making a video where i want to add some lines that continuously comes in the bottom, like a black strip in the bottom of my video and the text which continues itself, like we watch in news channels...

edited sample.jpg

• 1. Re: add text
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The black bar would be a shape layer.

The text would be a text layer.

You would animate it by keyframe animation.

These are all bare-bones AE basics. If you don't know how to do them, you're going to be very frustrated with AE until you get a more solid foundation. I'd suggest that you start here: Getting started with After Effects

• 2. Re: add text
            f3arl37664746 Level 1

thanks mate for the reply, yea i am new tho, but if you can provide me any youtube link of the perfect tutorial related to this subject it would be more helpful to me. Reading and understanding is little bit tough to understand when you're using software. i hope so you'll provide it to me thanks.

• 3. Re: add text
              Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You can't successfully do one simple task in AE (like making a black bar) without having a working understanding of how to use AE. How do you make a composition and what settings should you use? How do you work with layers? How do you render? How do you work with keyframes? What's a codec? You need to know all that stuff and more before you can do what you're asking.

AE is a very, very powerful program, but that also means it's not simple to use. What you're asking to do would be easier to do in Premiere Pro, by the way.

However, if you wish to do it in AE, you'll need to learn how to use AE. The link I gave you is text, yes, but the text is merely links to video resources in it to get you started. Tons and tons of video resources.

• 4. Re: add text