5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2016 7:12 PM by wobertc

Virtual proofs? Definitely confused

stevenp15666665 Level 1

What are they exactly?

I've been using lightroom for 3 years, and never had a dialog pop up about them.

Now, the screen goes white after it automatically assumes I want a virtual proof (which I, by the way, haven't quite figured out what it is).

Then when I try to delete a photo, it gets rid of the proof, THEN the image.

Because of this I have accidentally deleted a file I was working on.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Virtual proofs? Definitely confused
          wobertc Adobe Community Professional

You may be talking about two things!

1. Virtual Copies- appear in the library as another image but are only just another recipe for baking the same physical photo.

Press [Ctrl+' ] to create a Virtual Copy of a selected image, which you can then develop/edit in a different way. Like having two recipes to make different biscuits using the same ingredients. Deleting a Virtual Copy will only 'remove' the copy it does not delete the original photo.

2. You mention a 'White screen' so it is possible you are looking at a "Soft Proof". This is a preview of an image that you intend to print and Lightroom tries to show it as it would appear on different kinds of (white) paper and using different printer profiles.

[ S ]  in the Develop module toggles Soft Proofing on/off (or you tick the box below the image) and you select a printer profile in the panel under the histogram. If you try some different profiles you may see the tone of the 'White' screen background change slightly to mimic different paper types.

The "Soft Proof"  is only a preview! and if you delete the image here you are indeed removing the image from the Lr catalog or Deleting from the hard-drive entirely!

• 2. Re: Virtual proofs? Definitely confused
            stevenp15666665 Level 1

Hmm I think it's the second thing?