16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2016 7:59 AM by rob day

CC 2015 Createspace cover nightmares

matthewdee Level 1

This has to me something I'm doing wrong, it's driving crazy and I need to solve as I'm using cc2015 to submit cover artwork. Underneath the submitted artwork in a layer is a template that is EXACTLY the same dimensions as the cover art. Yet I keep getting proofs back that Createspace had to adjust and the adjustment proof looks terrible. Tather then keep sending new artwork and waiting then seeing the proof come back incorrect I thought I would ask here as I'm not a printing expert but do have common sense and need someone who can let me know if what I'm doing is correct.

My document size is set at 5.06 x 7.81, as you can see the template is 5.06 x 7.81 but I notice that even though I have the correct page amount ( 236) the template says 234 BUT MOST IMPORTANT the message I got from createspace was that some artwork was outside the safe zone so they cropped the artwork in the proof I got back and it also said that the following

"The spine content was too large for the page count so we reduced the size and centered it, ensuring that there is at least 0.0625" of room on either side to prevent the content from wrapping onto the front or back cover when printed. We recommend you review a physical proof of your book to ensure you are satisfied with the adjustments made."

But the template spine size is 0.55.

Main concern here is how do I size the template in the document?

When I place the template in the doc the orange borders line right up with the black document lines perfectly ( looking in PREVIEW mode)

screenshot is a template the exact size ( its back cover , spine and front cover ) and the doc set up.

I have the bleed set to 0

NOW

DO I line up all artwork WITHIN the dotted black line?

or line up with the outside of the ORANGE?

common sense tels me that any artwork within the black dotted will print