2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2016 2:55 AM by 16mm1990s

Inserting a layer of static images in handheld video

16mm1990s

Hello,

I am new to AE.

I am editing a doc sequence where the subject is moving and speaking at night in a relatively well-lit urban environment.

He is fellowed in profile by a handheld camera - full frame, 4K.

Question: What would be the best way to insert images into backgrounod, so they stay static, as he passes them by - like an advert on a wall or lamp post. It needs to be inserted in the post.

There is a chance of more footage being filmed soon. Is there anything to do during filming to help to insert these images in post - adding Green markers in background at location, for example?

Many thanks,

16mm

• 1. Re: Inserting a layer of static images in handheld video
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Here are some things to consider when planning to add elements to hand held footage. I'll list them in the order that I consider things when I plan VFX shots. I've been doing this kind of thing for more than 40 years and this works pretty good for me.

1. Plan the camera movement so that there is plenty of fixed geometry in the scene to track (you can't track anything in a shot of the ocean with the surf rushing in or a shot of a sidewalk full of people shot with a telephoto lens)
          2. Keep the camera as steady as possible
          3. Shoot at a higher than standard frame rate if it is practical to get more information to track (59.94 preferable over 29.97 which is way more preferable than 24 or 23.976)
          4. If your camera has rolling shutter problems and most consumer and prosumer cameras do, do everything you can to minimize them
          5. Manage lens distortion by using lenses or focal lengths that do not distort the edges of your frame
          6. Avoid jerky camera motion that introduces motion blur