3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2016 5:34 PM by soundman1963

InDesign CS6 ePUB and table formatting - Can't get rid of 1pt stroke on border and cells

soundman1963 Level 1

I'm new to ePUB and I'm working on a test document that contains 5 pages of text and graphics, which are displaying correctly. However, on page 2, I created a 3 column, 4 row table (plus an extra row defined as a header). I've formatted it using a Table and Cell styles. The table style references a separate cell style for the header and a second style for the body. It also has alternating fills set to every other row. This is exporting properly.

The problem I'm having is, when I export to ePUB, I can't get rid of the 1pt. table border and cell strokes. I've set the table style for both Row Strokes and Column Strokes to None for the Alternating Pattern drop-down list. This grays out all other features, and I noticed the Weight for the stroke is also set to zero. Both cell styles have their Stroke Weight set to zero. There are no strokes visible in my InDesign CS6 document. After I export, I cracked open the ePUB to read the CSS. I noticed there is an entry for the <td> and <th> tags with a stroke set to 1pt. I loaded the page with the table in a browser and then changed the value to 0px. When I refresh the page, the strokes are turned off.

Is this a default value that gets added to the CSS, upon export?

Is there a way to prevent this from happening in InDesign so I don't have to edit the CSS afterwards?

td, th {

border-style:solid;

border-width:1px;

}

table {

border-collapse:collapse;

}

table.Table-Four-Rows {

border-style:none;

border-width:0px;

margin-bottom:20px;

margin-top:20px;

margin-left:10px;

}

td.Table-Header-row {

background-color:#ff8080;

padding-bottom:10px;

padding-left:20px;

padding-right:10px;

padding-top:10px;

}

td.Table-Body-Row-Spacing {

padding-bottom:30px;

padding-left:20px;

padding-right:30px;

padding-top:30px;

}