13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2016 6:27 AM by Szalam

Disable Render Log?

butler Level 1

Is there a way to disable the render log that is created when rendering out a video?

• 1. Re: Disable Render Log?
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Here's a question in return: Why would you want to do that?

Render logs take up only a tiny amount of storage.

Disabling them doesn't increase AE speed.

They're a helpful diagnostic tool if something goes wrong.

Your project is completed trouble-free?  Drag 'em in the trash.  Takes 2 seconds.

I just don't understand why you think they're so bad.

• 2. Re: Disable Render Log?
            butler Level 1

1 less clutter in my project folder. 2 when I have multiple AE files in the same folder I get a new folder and file for each instance. 3 I've been using AE for almost 10 years and in that time I can't think of one instance I have ever used the log file.

• 3. Re: Disable Render Log?
              Monoqle Level 1

Well, honestly, it's not a performance issue, but more of a clutter-free environment one. I never know what to do with these files, really, since I make tiny animation renders and they're always happen to be fine. Not everyone makes movies out of AE

But hey, if someone could answer the question, that'd be great, because this "issue" is really poorly documented, and AE preferences seem to be avoiding the subject.

• 4. Re: Disable Render Log?
                JetSzz Level 1

Not answered yet?

In CS6, "Log: Error only" does create log file only when error occurred, so it didn't matter .

In CC, It keeps creating log file for each AEP file when you render something. And i keep doing Increment & Save to keep track progress and backup.

Imagine this on your project folder.

ProjectA.aep Logs

ProjectA 2.aep Logs

ProjectA 3.aep Logs

ProjectA 4.aep Logs

ProjectA 5.aep Logs

ProjectA 6.aep Logs

ProjectA 7.aep Logs

ProjectA 8.aep Logs

ProjectA 9.aep Logs