5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2016 1:32 PM by rob day

RGB placed objects - print K only

calebp32525708

I am a bit new to InDesign.

I have a book, made by others, that has some black and white RGB images placed through out that are printing out as "Rich Black".  I'd like to figure out how to tell InDesign to print them (individually or as a whole) to NOT use Rich Blacks for them, but just use K.

The only thing color in the publications is the cover. When we print the books inhouse, we are charged color clicks for all internal pages as well as the cover at a far higher rate than it would if we printed just B&W internal pages (.08cents for color, .002 for b&w). It's not a huge cost delta, but it sure adds up when you are printing hundreds and hundreds of books.

So I'm trying to learn how I can take an RGB object that was from Photoshop and place it in my InDesign file to use the K-channel only for the photoshop objects.

A lot of the pubs I work on were existing pubs created by those who came before me. The pubs have png files, PSD files embedded here and there. It's all these objects that visually appear as greyscale. yet when i use the Output Preview to view the color separations and uncheck the K, all the photos are showing as rich black (unchecking C, M, Y makes them disappear from the preview).

So I'd like to go through each of the pubs I have and ensure the grascale photos are all set to use just K.

• 1. Re: RGB placed objects - print K only
          SJRiegel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You could export as a greyscale PDF, then export just the cover as a 4 color pdf.

Then remove the grey cover from the main file, and add in the color one.

Now you can may your in-house prints from the PDF, and I imagine it will work properly.

• 2. Re: RGB placed objects - print K only
            calebp32525708 Level 1

Hi SJRiegel: