4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2016 7:18 PM by sevenpineshomestead

import to Lightroom 6 catalog from Mac hard drive 96,000 photos

sevenpineshomestead Level 1

Hello.  I am new to Lightroom, and I wanted to selectively upload from my Macbook harddrive, but before I could specify where I wanted it to look, Lightroom began the tedious process of just loading from user, and after a long interval, came up with 110,000 photos.  Some were duplicated and some were components of programs....like pictures, settings, graphics etc.   So, I've CMD SHIFTed a large bunch I KNOW I don't want to be in the LR library.... (most of which are small image graphics like I said above) and I've unchecked them, but how do I make them go away? 

I want to move on to the other ones, but it's very slow, and I feel like I should eliminate "chunks" of photos in order to get to the ones I do want to import.  This was not how I remember the video I watched on importing being.  I've probably done something wrong!   :

Does anyone have any advice for a brand-newbie on how to not clutter up their Lightroom 6 catalog?    It was my intention to pull small groups from the desktop files I'd organized for hours before I selected import.  I made year folders, and system folders, my Design elements folder, and Favorites folder so that I could tag and color code them on their way in. 

This is not how I'd pictured this moment in my Lightroom-hobby being!   LOL!    Thanks to all who read all this!

Tracy

• 1. Re: import to Lightroom 6 catalog from Mac hard drive 96,000 photos
          Chetna Srivastava Adobe Employee

Hi Tracy,

You can select bunch of pictures in your catalog and press delete key > choose remove to remove them from the catalog.

If you want to start fresh and import folder by folder as you wanted to then, you can either select all and remove them all or create a new blank catalog and then, start the import process.