5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2016 1:43 PM by Szalam

help using after effects on wondows 7

glenm82552910

Hi all Ihave installed free trial of after effects but when trying to open a simple intro video I want to edit I am getting sore errors. The program is asking for nirira graphic download or cuda  also the file is saying to be converted to 9.0 any ideas? I am new to this and want to see if it will work for me. I just want to edit basic after effects intros with my own logo. Adobe told me that my operating system may need re loading is this correct? HEEELLLPP!!!!

• 1. Re: help using after effects on wondows 7
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The first "error" message is likely about the ray-traced renderer which is considered an obsolete feature, so I wouldn't worry about it. You can feel free to press the "never show this again" button.

The second "error" message is just telling you that the AE project you're opening was created in an older version of AE. After Effects version 9 is better known as CS4 to most people. The current version of After Effects (CC 2015) is version 13.6

So, both messages can be ignored.

• 2. Re: help using after effects on wondows 7
            glenm82552910 Level 1

Hi Szalam

thanks so much for this I am uncertain why the image I am trying to edit is not coming live - it is from video blocks - a simple animation intro that I want to change the text - thats all. But the image is not oppening - only showing coloured blocks. When I bypass the ray traced messaged it says 'project must be converted from version 9.0.2' and I click OK. I get a warning 4 files are missing since you last oppenned project - Ok - then it says the file ' shattered logo aep" is locked you can't save any changes to this file, the screen then opens but showing coloured blocks - on a tutorial I am watching the logo artwork should have oppenned.

I am not sure if it is my machine - it does the same on my laptop?