4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 9:39 AM by A.T. Romano

Trimming and Saving Video in Premeire Elements 14

Jack Benji

I'm new at this.  I can trim an added media video (highlighted by blue on timeline) but can't save the trimmed area.  I end up saving the entire video with only the trimmed section viewable.  I want to save the trim as 720p MP4 so that I can view it on most video players outside of Premeire Elements environment.

• 1. Re: Trimming and Saving Video in Premeire Elements 14
          A.T. Romano Level 7

jack Benji

Premiere Elements 14 on what computer operating system?

Where are you working - in the Expert workspace or the Quick workspace? Please consider working in the Expert workspace so that you can see better what is happening and thus have more control of the workflow.

Let us assume that you are in the Expert view, have your file on Video 1/Audio 1. You trim away parts of the video that you do not want. Can I assume that you delete away the cuts that you do not want?

Do you want to put all those trims together on that Timeline and then export them all into one 720p file? Or, do you want to export each trim separately one at a time as a 720p file?

For the moment, we will assume you have put together all the trims on the Timeline and are ready for your export.

Export & Share

Devices

Computer

HD 720 1280 x 720

The Format is set to MP4 - H.264

The Quality slider can be set to Low (6 Mbps), Mid (10 Mbps), or High (15 Mbps). That will control the file size of the export.

If you want to export each of the Timeline Trims separately, then what you do

a. Set the gray tabs of the Work Area Bar to span just the segment to be exported

and must do

b. In the Export & Share area described above, make sure to have a check mark next to the option there named Share Work Area Bar Only.

Example (not 14/14.1) for Gray Tabs and Work Area Bar - but similar for versions 11 to 14/14.1.

WorkAreaBar.JPG