7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 5:21 PM by Stephen_A_Marsh

Re sizing down to 100% necessary?

ripken8bo Level 1

Hi all, this is my first project going to print and I was looking through previous posts but couldn't get a definitive answer to my question.

Before pre press (my project is a 12x9 book) is it necessary to resize images via Photoshop?

For example I have many high resolution images about 7300x4900 that get scaled down in Indesign to a much smaller size so that the effective ppi of the image is high, for example 1486.

OR

Since the printer is requesting a pdf of the entire project, is it okay to just export and down sample these images via the compression settings of the pdf export?

Is one better over the other and is there a noticeable difference?

Any help would be much appreciated, thank you!

• 1. Re: Re sizing down to 100% necessary?
          smoothsea Level 3

Hi,

In my experience, you get a smaller PDF if your images are placed in Indesign at or near 100%. A smaller PDF is more manageable for everyone, but I don't think that there is any compromise in output quality when letting Indesign do the scaling.

Of course, I'm only talking about reducing images - I would never let Indesign scale upwards ...

Regards,

Malcolm

• 2. Re: Re sizing down to 100% necessary?
            Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

Photoshop can do a better sharping. If you need highest quality I would recalculate the images in Photoshop.

For normal purposes, you might keep them as they are.

InDesign is building up its internal preview based on the 100% size of any imported image. If you scale an image down in InDesign, its preview has therefore a higher resolution as it would have if you have scaled down the same image in Photoshop. Scaled down images are increasing the INDD file size, but have no effect on the final PDF.

• 3. Re: Re sizing down to 100% necessary?
              BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional