8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 1:27 PM by A.T. Romano

how do I change default space at beginning of timeline?

rbw11733274

Can anyone advise me on how to remove the space which occurs by default in front of the first clip added to the timeline? I assume I need to alter a default, but I cannot find it. Thanks

• 1. Re: how do I change default space at beginning of timeline?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

rbw

What version of Premiere Elements, what computer operating system? What workspace are you working in Timeline/Sceneline or Expert/Quick (depending on what version you have).

Please clarify with jpeg screenshot what space?

Are you referring to Preroll/Postroll settings?

ATR Premiere Elements Troubleshooting: PE: Preroll and Postroll Options Interpreted

Please consider and give details.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: how do I change default space at beginning of timeline?
            rbw11733274 Level 1

Hi ATRomano. I am using Premiere Elements 14. I am a novice. I am in Expert view.

When the first clip is added to the timeline, it always leaves a blank space of about 10 secs in front of the first clip  I know how to remove this in the individual project, but I would like to change the default so that it does not occur in future.

• 3. Re: how do I change default space at beginning of timeline?
              A.T. Romano Level 7

rbw

Thanks for the reply.

If you right click anywhere in a blank area of the Timeline, in the menu that appears, is the Snap option enabled? If not, please enable it.

Out of curiosity, when you go to Edit Menu/Preferences/General, what are the settings for Preroll and Postroll there...2 and 2?

How are you adding the first clip to the Timeline Video Track 1/Audio Track 1.

Add Media/Files and Folders/Project Assets from where you drag the file to the beginning of the Timeline. When you drag file 1 to the beginning of the Timeline, what does the timecode below the monitor show...