1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 12:15 PM by rob day

Has anyone else has had problems with the latest update of CC, specifically InDesign with relation to setting up files for print?

Child of Bordom

I've been a Graphic Designer for 19 years and have never had any problems with regards to printing (yes, I'm lucky). However, I'm old school and alway prepare my files so that you get predictable results with offset printing. Since the latest update of CC, there have been multiple problems with regards to transparencies both directly in InDesign and when exporting files to .pdf.  For example, in InDesign, layers get moved around every time I close the application or shut off the computer. I then have to go in and manually reset the graphics so that they are layered in the correct order. This problem is simply annoying, as I know I can fix this problem prior to output. However, the other problem has to do with the handling of transparencies during export to .pdf.

Prior to the latest update, all the print materials coming back from the printer looked good. After the last update, we got brochures back that looked like literal garbage. The color was way off and looked very flat and dull. After some investigation into the problem and much discussion with the Heidelberg rep, it was discovered that you have to export as pdf/X-1a:2001 (which seems to take care of the transparency issue). With the help of the Heidelberg rep, I was able to set up Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign and Acrobat to the proper pre-press settings for optimal output with the press.

We ran plotters directly from the press and the proofs looked great. We ran a low print run of brochures and although the color was significantly better, the color is still flat and lifeless.