20 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2016 1:18 PM by Szalam

RAM PREVIEW ruined

gary_odd_ny

Dear Adobe, I have been using AE since 1995 when I was taught it by COSA the inventors, before it was bought by Adobe. I taught AE at Parsons and SVA for 5 years. I have been using it professionally on a daily basis for 20 years. I have always been a big supporter and enjoyed its evolution over the years. However I could not be less happy with the RAM preview change for CC. There was nothing wrong with it before. I dislike this RAM situation to the degree where I must force my studio to continue using CS6. Have you gotten any other negative feedback on this? Will you consider changing it back to the way it has always been? This is the first time I have ever felt strongly enough about anything regarding AE to speak up about it. Would appreciate a response. Many thanks, Gary Breslin

• 1. Re: RAM PREVIEW ruined
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I have good news: You don't have to go all the way back to CS6!

You can install any version of AE from CS6 onward through the Creative Cloud app. So you could go to CC 2014's latest update (which is AE version 13.2) and have a lot of the enhancements (like copy with property links, improved caching behavior, etc.) that came out since version 11 and still use the old style of RAM preview. At my home studio, I have CS5, CS6, CC, CC 2014, and CC 2015 all on the same machine and they're all working just fine. They don't interfere with one another at all.

I can certainly understand your frustration with the new previewing system that was introduced in CC 2015. It's a big change! Have you tried the latest update to it? I have found that 13.6.1 works pretty smoothly for me and it fixed a lot of the issues other folks were having too.