4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2016 4:26 AM by Just Shoot Me

How do I move/import folders and photos to a different drive?

KarlKrueger54

I'm new to LR and it seems things are not as simple as tutorials show.

Last night I imported/moved a set of folders and their photos to an external drive G: I plan to organize my photos on. That worked well and must have been beginers luck.

Now I'm trying to move additional folders and photos from a different external drive H: to G:. When I select a source folder and hit the import button all the photos are grayed out and of course I cannot select a destination folder.

To me this is not intuitive and doing this in Windows Explorer is a lot easier. What trick am I missing here???? I simply want to replicate move things from H; to G: but LR won't allow it. Should be easy to do but its not.  If it makes a difference those folders on G: had been imported before.

• 1. Re: How do I move/import folders and photos to a different drive?
          dj_paige Level 9

Last night I imported/moved a set of folders and their photos to an external drive G: I plan to organize my photos on. That worked well and must have been beginers luck.

Now I'm trying to move additional folders and photos from a different external drive H: to G:. When I select a source folder and hit the import button all the photos are grayed out and of course I cannot select a destination folder.

If I am understanding your words correctly, one attempt that worked was moving photos via import, of photos that had not previously been imported. The second attempt to move photos that are already imported into Lightroom, and you cannot move photos that are already in Lightroom via importing. IMPORTANT CONCEPT: never import photos that have previously been imported.