13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2016 12:40 PM by robshaw79

Lightroom edits

robshaw79

Hi everyone,

sometime ago and moved my LR catalogue to an external hard drive to free up space on my mac. When I now go into LR and access the external hard drive all the original pictures are present but the edited versions are not. Any help/advise is much appreciated.

Regards,

Rob

• 1. Re: Lightroom edits
          dj_paige Level 9

Sounds like you imported the photos into the catalog after the move. Is that what you did?

• 2. Re: Lightroom edits
            robshaw79 Level 1

Sorry, I'm not sure what you mean exactly. Im new to LR!!  In LR I went to folders, went to my 500gb ext hard drive, and then chose the LR folder containing all 2'489 photos.

• 3. Re: Lightroom edits
              dj_paige Level 9

I'm sorry, there are a few details from your description that are missing or unclear.

When you say you moved your LR catalog to an external HD, please describe all the steps you used to do this, making clear whether you did this in Lightroom or your operating system, and using the exact Lightroom or operating system name of the step.

• 4. Re: Lightroom edits
                robshaw79 Level 1

ok, on my mac I went to the picture folder on my hard drive which contains the LR folder. This folder contains all the sub folders of different projects I've worked on. I basically clicked and dragged this LR folder into my external hard drive. I then deleted the LR folder on my macs hard drive. When I now open LR i go to the folders section and click the + tab to create a new folder. From here I add a new folder and find my external hard drive with the LR folder with all the sub folders contained. When I choose this it then transfers the 2000 or so photos in all their correct sub folders etc but they just seem to be missing all the edits I have ever done. Hope this makes sense.

Rob

• 5. Re: Lightroom edits
                  dj_paige Level 9