2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2009 10:44 AM by SirTree

Calling Web Service from Flex (to PeopleSoft)

SirTree
      I'm new to Flex and web services. I've created a web service in PeopleSoft and successfully imported the WSDL into Flex so that it has contacted the PS server and returned data (using mx:WebService and mx:Operation code I found examples of). However, I have been unable to pass a parameter to the service from Flex using that code. I then discovered and followed the sample code in the Flex-generated package, but no matter what I do I cannot successfully supply the "myValue" in the sample shown below. Here is Flex's own text in my GetInfo.as file built by Flex:

* MXML sample code:
      * First you need to map the package where the files were generated to a namespace, usually on the <mx:Application> tag, like this: xmlns:ws="com.draper.*"
      * Define the service and within its tags set the request wrapper for the desired operation
      * <ws:GetInfo id="myService">
      * <ws:FindID_request_var><ws:FindID_request Find__CompIntfc__DL_TREE_IB_CI=myValue/>
      * </ws:FindID_request_var>
      * </ws:GetInfo>
      * Then call the operation for which you have set the request wrapper value above, like this:
      * <mx:Button id="myButton" label="Call operation" click="myService.FindID_send()" />

My code is:
      <ws:GetInfo id="userRequest">
      <ws:findID_request_var><ws:FindID_request Find__CompIntfc__DL_TREE_IB_CI="X"/>
      </ws:findID_request_var>
      </ws:GetInfo>

When I try to run it, Flex is unhappy with the value I am assigning ("X" above) no matter what I put there. If I omit the double quotes and try to assign a text input field value (which is my goal here), it complains that it expects a double quote. If I put almost anything else there, it complains either:
      Initializer for 'Find__CompIntfc__DL_TREE_IB_CI'; values of type com.draper.Find__CompIntfc__DL_TREE_IB_CITypeShape cannot be represented as text.