Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Master slide with scenario, hint, reference toggles

Explorer ,
Feb 05, 2016 Feb 05, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a master slide with this little purple overlay built in:

The three icons are image-filled smart shape buttons that fill in white in rollover and down states.

I'd like to use these on non-guided practice slides for:

• Scenario - text caption toggle. Scenario is already given on a previous slide in full, this would be a reminder for the slides it applies to (good for several slides)
  • Hint - text caption toggle. Used when learner gets stuck, some kind of workflow-specific hint (changes slide to slide)
  • Reference - link. Would open a job aid with step-by-step instructions.

I'd like to use variables so I could control what exactly would Show when these toggles are used on each slide, and I imagine I need advanced actions on my master slide.

How do I do this?

TOPICS
Advanced

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 05, 2016 Feb 05, 2016

Long time ago I explained a similar work flow in these forums, and blogged about it:

"Beat the system" - save time creating Advanced Actions (Captivate) - Captivate blog

That is the work flow I certainly would use for the Hint:

1. create a user variable v_hint
  2. insert that variable in a text container on the first slide where you need it (shape or caption, I always mention that, because shape is so much more flexible for styling) and be sure to set the length as high as possible; in previous versions m

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry, but you cannot control items on master slides because they do not have an ID (name) at all.