3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2016 4:18 AM by rob day

URGENT !!!Export a PDF of thumbnails together

marcol19584503

How do I export a PDF of the thumbnails all on one page, like the layout in Indesign??? I need to export a SINGLE PDF page with all the thumbnails like I see them in Indesign but that are high res so I can zoom in and read text. Can not figure it out for the life of me. Can someone please help, I'm sure it's very simple but I've never used Indesign before. Thank you! Need to get this done as soon as possible!!!

• 1. Re: URGENT !!!Export a PDF of thumbnails together
          Migintosh Level 4

I don't know of a way to do this right out of the box, although someone may be able to write you a script if they have the time to do so. If you weren't a beginner, I could tell you how to do it manually, but if you don't know how to get around in the program, it would be really easy to get lost.

• 2. Re: URGENT !!!Export a PDF of thumbnails together
            Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi Marco,

there are several ways you can accomplish this.

1. Export your InDesign document to PDF with PDF/X-4 export settings.

2. Place your PDF page by page on a single page, arrange the "thumbnails" as you wish.

3. Export that page to PDF with PDF/X-4 export settings.

To get step 2 efficiently done, you could prepare empty rectangles in advance for left, right pages with a stroke or even an effect like drop shadow.

The small rectangles should have the same aspect ratio like your PDF pages. You could also set how the rectangles will react to placed images by setting the fittings options of the frames.

To load all PDF pages into the cursor (the placegun) do the following:

1. In the Place dialog chose:
            A. [x] Show Import Options

before selecting the PDF

2. Select the PDF you want to place

3. The Import Options will pop up

Chose [x] All pages

4. Now the cursor is loaded with all PDF pages