2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 15, 2016 7:15 PM by triplejs15

Document JS Function That Compares DD Value and Sets Textfield Value

triplejs15

Ok so here’s where I’m at, this is my first attempt and I've been searching/googling for some time now. Any help would be appreciated.

1. Document function named UOM with two parameters, name of drop down and name of a textfield
      2. I would like the function to get the selected value from the drop down after selection, name of drop down Serv_Type_dd1
      3. Then compare the value to a string example "Attendant"
      4. If drop down value is equal to "attendant" I set the text field Value to "Hours", textfield name is Amnt_1_1
      5. Here's how I'm calling the function: UOM([“Serv_Type_dd1”,”Amnt_1_1”]) within the "On Blur" action of the Serv_Type_dd1.
      6. I have to do this comparison for 17 drop down boxes containing 25 options each options have a different value in the text box

function UOM(ddvalue,textvalue)

{

var source = this.getField(ddvalue).value;

if(source.value=="Attendant")

{this.getField(textvalue).value = "Hours"}

Else if {this.getField(textvalue).value = 'Null'}

}

• 1. Re: Document JS Function That Compares DD Value and Sets Textfield Value
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Have you checked the JavaScript console for errors?

Did you get any pop-up errors when entering your code?

In the "if" statement the alternative is "else" not "Else". Capitalization is important in JavaScript.

I also would use the value of the fields as parameters to the function and have the function return a value that would be used to set the value of the field.

• 2. Re: Document JS Function That Compares DD Value and Sets Textfield Value
            triplejs15 Level 1