3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2016 5:22 AM by nickgripton

Placing a Comp within a Comp = loss of resolution?

the-visuals-team

I am self taught with After Effects. Somethings I know, other things like this I don't understand.

I'm producing an instructional video of a website showing how to log in etc...

I am working with some a screen grab that is captured in 4K on a 5K iMac from the Clients website. When I play it back in VLC it's nice and sharp. When I open it in AE, it's nice and sharp.

The reason I am working with 4k screen captured footage is to allow me to zoom into the footage to show specific details and back out again to the 'wide-shot'.

When I go to make a HDTV 1080x1920 25fps composition and insert the footage in there, scale it down to the comp frame size, I expect to be able to zoom in to the original resolution and for it to be super crisp. But inside the 1080p comp, the footage is pixelating really bad.

Screen shot to show::

This is layer 'S8' which is opened by t's self - displaying at 100% magnification and it's super sharp. Lovely.  (This video file is around 4072 pixels)

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 09.42.59.png

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ----------

This is layer S8 within a comp, within a comp. And it looks like hell. You'll need to enlarge to see the difference.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 09.43.08.png

Anyone got any ideas? Could really do with a hand on this as I'm at a bit of a dead end. I'm sure it's probably something really simple that I've missed.

Thanks

Sam

Mac Book Pro Retina Late 2013, 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, VIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB.

AE CC 2015 version 13.6.1.6

• 1. Re: Placing a Comp within a Comp = loss of resolution?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Zooming in 200% clearly isn't useful to judge quality...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Placing a Comp within a Comp = loss of resolution?