9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2016 11:39 AM by Per Berntsen

Using Files located on Hard Drive

aleli

Hi, I am new in Lightroom, just downloaded the software, but I had my catalog already saved on an external hard drive because I just changed computers.

I have the lightroom app with the new Lightroom folder on my internal hard drive, but with no photos. All of them are on the external hard drive, where I have two folders, 1. Lightroom 5 Catalog and 2. LightoomMasters folder.

What do I need to do in order to start using lightroom using my pictures on the External Harddrive?

Do I need to import everything to my local drive and then move it again to the external drive?

Please need help to set it up correctly.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Using Files located on Hard Drive
          Per Berntsen Adobe Community Professional

To get images into Lightroom, you have to import them.

You can import them directly from the external drive, but to to be able to work on them, the drive has to be connected.

To start working, either go to File > Open, and navigate to the catalog file, or double click the catalog file to launch Lightroom.

Then click Import, and import your files using the Add option at the top of the import screen.

You may find this article useful: Lightroom basics

• 2. Re: Using Files located on Hard Drive
            aleli Level 1

Thank you for your response. Once I import them, it will take space of my internal hard drive, correct? If so, Can I move them to the external drive again so I can free up memory on my computer? or what would you do?

Thanks again.

• 3. Re: Using Files located on Hard Drive
              JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP