4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 15, 2016 10:52 AM by Gutter-Fish

How to get AE to remember where 3D assets are placed for each shot composition?

trey38647 Level 1

I will try to explain this in simple terms as I am a newbie..

Let us say we have live action camera footage outdoors in an open space of empty land. Two people are filmed talking to each other standing in an interview side by side, sort of in a V-angle. The camera is filming whoever is the current active speaker and moves from one speaker to the other speaker. The empty field in the background can be seen. What if one wanted to import a 3D model of a tree and a 3D model of a  park bench and composite them in the background behind the first person and import a 3D model of a garbage bin and a 3D model of a street sign and composite those behind the second person.

Question1: The question here is, what is the industry standard workflow? Does the compositor need to follow the match/track/import model process for every shot in the scene in order to add the relevant specific 3d assets EVERY TIME? Or is there a way to ask After Effects' memory/brain to remember and 'stick' the assets with 'tape' or 'glue' to the field's ground surface somehow, so they can simply be imported to the scene when the relevant shot with the relevant person is shown? i.e. Person1 has a background of a tree and a park bench and Person2 has a garbage bin and a street sign. What is the industry standard common workflow for After Effects to 'remember' where to place the 3d assets? Is there a name for the 'remember where my 3D assets are placed' process I am talking about here in Compositing language/lingo?