4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2016 10:34 AM by vanlazarus2013

Warp Stabilize Effect doesn't apply to preview

vanlazarus2013 Level 1

I usually do this in Premiere, but need to apply the effect in AE because I want to use the Mocha motion tracker after the Warp Stabilize effect has been applied.

After replacing my clip in Premiere with an After Effects composition, AE loads up with the same clip and immediately starts the Warp Stabilize analysis again. The Warp Stabilizer was applied to the clip in Premiere earlier.

After waiting for the analysis to complete I see absolutely no change in the preview of the video.  It's as if the Warp Stabilizer effect doesn't exist... I see the tracking points, but none of the stabilizing motion has been applied.

Also, the control pulldown options for most of the settings (such as Method under the Stabilization section) are all greyed out and can't be modified.

What am I doing wrong?  I'm very new to After Effects so this is probably a simple mistake on my part.

Any help greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Warp Stabilize Effect doesn't apply to preview
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you want to do further processing to any Warp Stabilized shot the best option is to apply Warp Stabilizer and then render that video to a suitable DI (digital intermediate) using a lossless or visually lossless format for further processing. You would have to do that anyway to use Mocha because Mocha uses the original video and ignores all effects applied to the footage.

Warp Stabilizing is a resource hogging slow to re-render mess of a system to try to use as a source for further effects work. I would never intentionally apply any effects to a clip in Premiere Pro if I were planning to bring that shot into AE because some effects do not come over well and effects that require rendering like Warp Stabilizer would have to render again.