1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 17, 2016 4:52 PM by MikeIs2C

Can't get SOAP examples to work in console -- always get "undefined"

MikeIs2C Level 1

First, I am a newbie to using SOAP in general.  I was able to write a php client and service that worked on my localhost (using WAMP) to get results from a database using a function call.  I then wanted to get it to work on a PDF on my computer (Windows 10 using Acrobat DC Pro).

I started by trying to run some basic examples from the"Javascript Developer's Guide" using the console and substituting my own values.  But it always came back with "undefined".  So I thought I would just follow the examples as given but had the same problem.  I have since been all over the Web looking at other people's examples and problems. But I always get undefined when I run them -- despite other people saying it worked for them!

I suspect I am using the URL incorrectly since that is missing in most examples.  In any case, using the basic example below,

I hope someone can point out what I am doing wrong:

var cURL = "http://www.whitemesa.com/interop/InteropTest.wsdl";

var myProxy = SOAP.connect(cURL);

var testString = "This is a test string.";

var result = myProxy.echoString(testString);

console.println("Result is " + result);

Thanks so much for your time,

Mike

• 1. Re: Can't get SOAP examples to work in console -- always get "undefined"
          MikeIs2C Level 1

I figured out what I was doing wrong in general: I was incorrectly using the console!  In reviewing the guide on executing code on the console (multiple lines), it specifically states:

To evaluate multiple lines of code, highlight those

lines and press either the Enter key on the numeric

keypad or press Ctrl + Enter.