8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2016 1:44 PM by rwiebusch

Lightroom Back-up

rwiebusch

I have been working with Lightroom 5 for a few years, but taking digital photos for 10 years.  Last month, I started a project to bring all my digital photos into the Lightroom catalog, make uniform and simplify the file naming process, delete photos I no longer wanted, and mark some of the ones I was keeping for "collections".  I spent days on this and deleted at least 10,000 photos.  The program stated that it was making a backup of the catalog (not photos) at the end of each session.  Two days ago, when I tried to open Lightroom, I was met by a message saying that "Lightroom had trouble reading preview caches and needed to close."  Since then, I have not been able to find the work I had completed, the Lightroom catalog backups, or even any of my photos with editing metadata.  The best I can do is import all the photos on my various drives to Lightroom again, and receive versions with no history of prior editing, as well as all the 10,000 that I spent a month deleteing. I have spent 2 hours with Carbonite trying to get them to restore my files as they existed on the 15th, only to discover that they did not make a copy of my updated photo files every 24 hours, as they had claimed they would, and that they don't even know where to look for the missing files because they don't know Lightroom.  Can anyone help?

• 1. Re: Lightroom Back-up
          dj_paige Level 9

"Lightroom had trouble reading preview caches and needed to close."

In your operating system, go to the folder where your catalog file is located. There will be a sub-folder whose name ends with Previews.LRDATA. Delete this subfolder. Do not delete anything else.

• 2. Re: Lightroom Back-up
            Hal P Anderson Level 6

Don't re-import. There's nothing wrong with your catalogue or your images.