7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2016 11:20 PM by Gutter-Fish

"Resizing" a picture in AE - effect?

Madrah

Hello everyone, thank you so much for taking the time to read this question.

Now, I'm looking to do a very specific effect in AE CC. It's kind of hard to explain, so let me give you an example of something similar:

At the start of the linked video, there's an intro - I'm looking to recreate an effect from that. It's around the 0:09-0:10-mark. It's the part where the logo sort of "scales down", and dissapears. (I know for a fact that this was done in AP.

LINK: Minecraft: CRAINER IS MISSING!? | Boskie's Adventure | #012 - YouTube

I'm really sorry if my explanation doesn't suffice, but I really hope you know what I mean.

I have a picture of my own, that I want to do the same with; could any of you please explain how I'd go about doing that? I'm new to AE, but I know a fair few things about general keyframing.

Really, I'm just wondering what I'd need to select? Are we talking a specific effect, using the scaling tool, or? What would you guys suggest?

Thank you so much in advance!

Kind regards,

Madrah

• 1. Re: "Resizing" a picture in AE - effect?
          Gutter-Fish Level 4

It's basically setting key-frames on the scale and opacity properties from whatever they are down to zero.  If the logo is multiple layers then you can either create a null, parent all the layers to the null and then key the scale & opacity of the null, or pre-compose

the layers and key the scale & opacity of the pre-comp.  There is also alot of animation principles in play there, like secondary motion, anticipation and overlap, but basically it's keying the scale and opacity.

• 2. Re: "Resizing" a picture in AE - effect?
            Madrah Level 1

I see! That was kinda obvious. Thanks a bunch.

• 3. Re: "Resizing" a picture in AE - effect?
              Madrah Level 1