11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2016 6:11 PM by Qwertyfly...

Change italic character attribute to no italics.

neiltonl5760991 Level 1

Hello. Can anyone help me?

I am not a programmer and I need a script to change a text of specific character in a Illustrator image, which are equations.

The images contain "(" and ")" (no quotation marks) that are in italics and must change them to "regular / normal" (not italics).

Excuse my English, I'm using google translate. thank you.

• 1. Re: Change italic character attribute to no italics.
          Qwertyfly... Level 4

this should get you started.

var doc = app.activeDocument;
          var txt = doc.textFrames;
          for(var i=0; i<txt.length; i++){
              for(var j=0; j<txt[i].textRange.characters.length; j++){
                  var ch = txt[i].textRange.characters[j];
                  var letter = ch.contents;
                  if(letter === "("||letter === ")"){
                      if(ch.characterAttributes.textFont.style = "Italics"){
                          ch.characterAttributes.textFont=app.textFonts.getByName("MyriadPro-Regular"); 
                      }
                  }
              }
          }

• 2. Re: Change italic character attribute to no italics.
            neiltonl5760991 Level 1

Dear Qwertyfly...

Fantastic! My nights sleep thank you immensely. It is the first time I use the forum and I am impressed with the return of the community.

Thank you very much.

• 3. Re: Change italic character attribute to no italics.
              neiltonl5760991 Level 1

Now came another question, how can I run this batch script? This is as possible as is done actions?

Thanks.

• 4. Re: Change italic character attribute to no italics.
                Silly-V Adobe Community Professional