6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2009 7:49 PM by Mugunda

Flex 3 Builder

Mugunda
      Hi, I am new to flex (basically a Java Programmer). I have few questions. I am using Flex Builder 3.

1) What is the difference between Action Script Class and Action Script file?
      2) Once an Action Script class is generated, I think the flex builder caches it even after I delete the file. So how to remove it from the cache also.

Please provide me the answer, if it is not the right forum, guide me on where I can get the information.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Flex 3 Builder
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6
          An ActionScript class is in an .as file, but because it includes the "package" specifier, and because it contains a class definition, it contributes to the structure of your program, and allows you to define custom types (classes).

An ActionScript file (.as file) for this discussion is a .as file that does not have a class defined in it. So you might just define an Array collection, or some embedded images, or some utility methods. Then you use "include" so the code can be used in your code.

Sometimes I put my embedded image definitions in a .as file, so my app file is less cluttered.
          • 3. Re: Flex 3 Builder
            cluebcke Level 1
            Any chance you could post the full source code for both your AS class and your MXML file?

That said, is there any change that your MXML file is named LoginMaster.mxml? It's a long shot, I know, but if it is, then LoginMaster is not referring to your AS class, but to your MXML component class. In the former, the property LGMST_CMPN_NO refers to a String, but in the latter, a property with the same name refers to a TextInput, and the error you receive is exactly what you get when you accidentally try to assign a String value to a TextField.
            • 4. Flex 3 Builder
              Mugunda Level 1
              Hi,