6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2016 8:36 PM by chrisw44157881

Professional green screen question.

Yiannis72 Level 1

Hello friends!

I am a visual artist and I have a question, in case someone of you out there knows the mystery answer...

In this Vimeo link: Digital Idea Showreel 2016 on Vimeo you can see a Vfx showreel. As you can see the most green or blue backdrops are full of wrinkles and unevenly lit. I use Keylight plugin and Primatte Keyer with After Effects CC and Nuke. I do a good job but I cannot understand how they manage to pull a perfect key out of these backdrop settings. I suspect they pull multiple keyes. That's completely understandable, since I never pull just one key either. But still the wrinkles and bad lighting is something we all try to avoid. My other guess is something I also use... They pull the multiple keys and then enrich them with edge brushes like photoshop and other edge correction and lightwrap techniques. But still the only way to pull a totally photorealistic and professional key out of bad footage is a perfect compositing and ................ ROTOSCOPING. I think they just use the green screens just to isolate their forground and then they rotoscope the shιt out of it. Rotoscoping is something I HATE!!!

Much obliged!

Yiannis Stravolaimos

Home - Yiannis Stravolaimos (Visual Artist)

• 1. Re: Professional green screen question.
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

yepp, that's just it. VFX houses have armies of roto artists.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Professional green screen question.
            Yiannis72 Level 1

Hello Mylenium!

So, I suppose there is not a super technique which can improve things, just hours and hours of detailed rotoscoping, after a decent key has been pulled... Oh God.. haha!!

Thank you!

• 3. Re: Professional green screen question.
              chrisw44157881 Level 4

my post below is accepting the fact that you didn't have good lighting in the first place....