4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2016 8:11 AM by adamneer

What is the best work flow for longer projects with music?

chrisg40094400

Hi. I am just getting into after effects and WOW, I'm soaking up every tutorial I can. That being said, I'm wondering what the best practice is for working with longer projects.Let me give you a scenario.

So I have my MAIN COMP with 3 minute music piece that I am syncing up to my animations.

I build ANIMATION COMP 1 and drop it into MAIN COMP.

Then let's say I want to adjust an element in ANIMATION COMP 1.

I switch back to ANIMATION COMP 1 Window to make my adjustments.

Problem: The music bed is in comp 1 so I can't listen to the music and make adjustments accordingly.

The obvious solution is to just build everything on 1 composition. But is there a way to make the MAIN COMP play while editing a secondary comp??

Thank you

• 1. Re: What is the best work flow for longer projects with music?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The only sensible thing to do for the project longer than a couple minutes this to edit in Premiere Pro and do the shots you absolutely must process in After Effects as individual comps. Comps are for creating shots and short sequences. Trying to put 80 or 100 cuts in a single cimp is not only difficult to deal with but changes finding the flow with the music is nearly impossible.

If you want to get real accurate about the whole thing your production needs to start before a single frame is shot. Shooting a bunch of stuff and trying to build something later is a really really bad idea unless there is no other choice. I have done a lot of music projects him more than 45 years in the business and even if you can't draw, just block storyboards will save you a bunch of time.

I hope this helps. You'll be in good shape if you remember that you make shots in a AE and you had it in Premier and you mix sound in Addition.

• 2. Re: What is the best work flow for longer projects with music?