30 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2016 7:17 AM by Jao vdL

Large catalog of images (500,000)

memmoments

I'm new to LR and have heard so much about it's great cataloging features.

I'm basically searching for an image that is on one of the unmounted drives.  Once I find the image in my catalog, LR points me to the image's location on an unmounted drive.  Once I know where it is I can then mount the drive and retrieve the image. So far everything is working as expected.

Details on the setup:

My LR Catalog resides on my computers internal HD. My normal workflow is that have a networked HD with my current work on it and then once finished I move and archive my work onto removable 1TB HDs. I have mounted each of those drives and imported each drives images into LR. I have about 500,000 images in total at this point.  I did not copy the actual images into LR but I did select 1:1 previews when doing so.

Now here is my problem. I just realized that my computers internal HD is almost full.  The Lightroom Catalog Previews.lrdata file is over 220GB. 

Question for you season LR users here.

Can I change my previews from 1:1 to another setting like smart previews and save lots of space?  And if I can and do change the previews, when I'm searching for an image on a drive that is removed from the system, will I still be able to see a non-pixellated hi quality image?

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks, P

• 1. Re: Large catalog of images (500,000)
          JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP