7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2016 1:19 PM by mollybd

Commercial Font Use for T-Shirt Designs

billymart4392 Level 1

I just started my own t-shirt website and I am very new to this. My question is: If I purchase the Adobe Typekit with all of the fonts that are included... Can I use those fonts, put them onto t-shirt designs, and then sell them on my website?

• 1. Re: Commercial Font Use for T-Shirt Designs
          Dov Isaacs Adobe Employee

This is really a Typekit question. Moving it to the new Typekit forum!

• 2. Re: Commercial Font Use for T-Shirt Designs
            Peter Villevoye Adobe Community Professional

Legally, that's what fonts are for ! To create fixed visual renditions of characters.

It might be a tad different for web design (that's when fonts get sent out as files).

But you're doing and using exactly what these fonts are meant for.

One subtle note: you don't purchase Typekit – you subscribe to it.

• 3. Re: Commercial Font Use for T-Shirt Designs
              Dov Isaacs Adobe Employee

Actually, the original poster's question was quite valid!

It is absolutely not true in all cases that “legally, that's what fonts are for!”

What is true is that for any font, you need to read the End User License Agreement (preferably before you license the font, either as a perpetual license or as part of a subscription service such as is provided by Typekit) for any font you wish to use. In fact, some font foundries do prohibit certain commercial usage of fonts either entirely or without additional royalties – use in logos and on items such as tee shirts are some of the areas where we have indeed seen such restrictions.

Thus, I applaud Billy Martin for posing this question.