18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2009 10:53 PM by

[AS2] Making a text based game

Gamelord2
      I am trying to make a small text based game test so that I can learn the code needed to make an actual one.
      I am working on the battle system right now, and I am pretty new to flash.
      So there's "Enemy HP:" in a static text box in the top right corner, and right below it is a dynamic text box for the enemy's health which starts at 50 for this test. In the top left corner its the same thing, but for Player HP and it starts at 100.
      I have an input Text box at the bottom and a little button to press to input commands (I dont know how to make it so when you press enter it will input the command, if you could help me on that as well, that would be great), but it doesn't work. I have the variable set for the input text box as command. The code I have in the Input button is:
      on(Press) {
      if(command="attack") {
      enemyhp-5
      Clear(commandbox)
      }
      }

So what I am hoping to do is have it take away 5 Health points ("HP") from the enemy's health when "attack" is typed into the command box. I have set the variables for the player's and the enemy's hp in the first frame, and all the stuff like the text boxes are on Frame 2. The action script I have for Frame 2 is just stop(); .
      If someone could help me get this working, I would be very grateful.
      By the way, the Input button is not a Button, but a movie clip.

I am also having a problem with my buttons. I have tested this on many occasions and it has only ever worked once, even though I use the same code each time. I have a "Play" movie clip with the Actionscript:
      on(Press) {
      gotoAndPlay(2);
      }
        • 1. [AS2] Making a text based game
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          For a conditional test, use ==, not =

enemyhp-5 is a dead end statement, assuming enemyhp is the value you want to subtract from