5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2006 7:33 PM by Newsgroup_User

Placing an .avi behind an image?

chalexmandrake
      Hi, I am very new to director (and finding the thing to be an absolute ruddy nightmare to be honest)... In my director movie I have an .avi file playing, and I have created a .png frame, which I want to go in front of it - just hiding the edges of the .avi file. However, unlike any other cast members I have, the .avi file seems to always be on top in the stage/projector, regardless of where I place it in the score. I am assuming that there is some way around this?

...Also can't seem to move the .avi to reposition it as I I wish on the stage (oddly I can rescale it though).

Thanks in advance for any help.

P.S. What the hell is with only one level of undo?

P.P.S. Apologies if my questions are horribly basic.

• 1. Re: Placing an .avi behind an image?
          chalexmandrake Level 1
          (I am on MX2004 if that makes any difference).
          • 2. Re: Placing an .avi behind an image?
            Level 7
            Hi,

And welcome to the wonderful world of Director. It is not as bad as it may seem
            Since you're new to Director, I'll give you the link to my Director tutorials.
            http://www.fbe.unsw.edu.au/learning/director/
            I am currently cleaning them up so if you do take a peek at them, feel free to
            send me any feedback.

To your questions. Video in Director is by default set to Direct To Stage (DTS),
            which means it will be the top most layer, regardless of the channel it's placed
            and no transparencies can be applied to them. This is because it can be CPU
            intensive if the computer has to think about layering and transparency issues for
            the video. You can turrn the DTS property off in the Property Inspector. Look at
            the AVI tab and you'll see DTS. Depending on the video, it may not play as
            smoothly if DTS is off.