3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2016 9:54 PM by Peter Kahrel

GREP-Positive lookbehind, or how to change only a second grouping

carloscarmel

First of all, forgive me if i ask questions that are easy to solve. I am a total Newbie, and altough i am trying to solve as much as i can with personal research and reading, time is running, and sometimes i just have to ask.

Here is the deal: I have the following sample text:

-------------------------------

1. Introitus. Ps. 36, 30-31.¶

Os justi meditábitur sapiéntiam, et lingua ejus loquétur judícium: lex Dei ejus in corde ipsíus. Ps. ibid.,1. Noli æmulári in malignántibus: neque zeláveris faciéntes iniquitátem. . Glória Patri.

--------------------------------

(The paragraph sign represents the hidden character for line Jump. )

I need to make a GREP Query  that does a positive lookbehind of Introitus.+     (up until the standard carriage return ~b) and gives me as a result all the text of the following paragraph, in order to apply a style to it. An important note: almost everything in this patterns changes constantly, except the word “Introitus” and the line jumps. So far I had this:

(?<=^Introitus.+~b)

A positive lookbehind, that actually does not work.  I have tried adding a multiline option:

(?m)(?<=^Introitus.+~b)

With no results either:

I’m sure it’s a piece of cake for you guys. Thanks in advance, and forgive the grammar.

1. Ok. I just found out a way: Instead of doing a lookbehind, I simply divided my grep query in two:

(^Introitus.+~b)(^.+)

But I still need to know, how can I apply a style, only to the second result ($2), but leaving the first result intact. I don’t know how to do that. I’d still like to hear an answer, (if there is one) about how to do this with a lookbehind, (if possible.)

• 1. Re: GREP-Positive lookbehind, or how to change only a second grouping
          Peter Kahrel Adobe Community Professional & MVP