6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2016 2:34 PM by emmapants42

Populate dropdown list with results from multiple dropdown lists

emmapants42

Hi, I'm trying to create a form where the results from two dropdown lists would then populate another dropdown list. I'm not new to javascript, but I am new to using it in Acrobat, so while I've found some answers like this: Populate drop-down list from multiple text fields. I'm not sure where to implement this, if it's even the right thing I'm looking for.

Oh and I'm using Acrobat Pro DC. Any help would be extremely appreciated!!

• 1. Re: Populate dropdown list with results from multiple dropdown lists
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

What do you mean by "the results from two dropdown lists" exactly? Do you mean the current value of two dropdowns, or something else? When you populate a dropdown with a list of items, one of the items becomes the dropdowns current value. Which one do you want to become the current value of the dropdown when it's newly populated? Which one do you want to become the default value of the dropdown?

• 2. Re: Populate dropdown list with results from multiple dropdown lists
            emmapants42 Level 1

Yes, the current value. So the options to select from DropdownList3 would be:

DropdownList1CurrentValue

DropdownList2CurrentValue

The default value of all these things can just be blank. And you shouldn't be able to select anything in third dropdown lists before you've made your choices for the first two. Does that make sense?

• 3. Re: Populate dropdown list with results from multiple dropdown lists

For the third one to be blank you'd also normally add an additional item that appears blank (e.g., single space) as the first item.