4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2016 4:43 AM by Laubender

Yellow and Blue boxes in InDesign CC 2014

Balagex

Hi,

In a project we have to manipulate InDesign files via the java script interface of the InDesign CC Server 2014. The files are created with Indesign CC 2014.

I am totally new in this InDesign topic, and never used any component of them. Now I would like to ask some very basic, maybe stupid questions, and would like to get some confirmation or correction.

I want focus to placing and changing images on the page.

As I see, when an image placed to a page, there is 2 kind of borders/boxes, what a user can manipulate. In the begining, both yellow and blue box has a same position, size, etc.

yellow_and_blue.JPG

By my understaning, the yellow box represent the image itself, and the blue box works as some kind of mask/window, and only that part of the image will be seen on the page what is covered by the blue box area. Is it a very important question for me, so please confirm, Is it true or not.

So clicking on the circle thing, the yellow box can be resized. As I see, if the Auto-fit option is set, and I resizing/moving the blue box, the yellow will be resized/moved with it, but if I not set this option, I can freely resize the blue box independently from the yelow.

yellow_and_blue2.JPG

So, if we replace an image via scripts, the new image will be "placed" into the yellow box and will be seen throught the blue box. Is it right?

What happen when we place an image into the yellow box, but the image scale and the box scale is different? Will any scale to fit or scale to fill resizing happen? If yes, which one, and how can I determine it via scripts?

Regards

Balázs

• 1. Re: Yellow and Blue boxes in InDesign CC 2014
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

There are not boxes.

What you see are frames and content.

If you select the frame, it gets a selection in the color of the Layer (F7).