6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2017 7:01 AM by williams30482568

why do stacked photos move to the end of the timeline in Lightroom

jnix43124

Hello,

I am an advanced user, and I feel like this an elementary question that I have been struggling to find an answer to. I normally work on a large number of photos and need to take a few of those into photoshop for additional edits ... I set my sort at custom, but every time I take a photo from light room into photoshop for additional edits, light room moves the stack to to the very end of my sort. I am a wedding photographer and I am editing 1000+ images so having to move the edited photo back into place is extremely annoying and seems like a complete waste of time for two programs that are supposed to work seamlessly. I have searched the forums for what I thought would be an easy fix, but no luck. To me this this should be be one of those intuitive things things that make Adobe what it is. I hope there is a simple explanation for this. I simply want to arrange my photos and then edit them (w/ PS or not) in the order I want them.

• 1. Re: why do stacked photos move to the end of the timeline in Lightroom
          dj_paige Level 9

Set your sort order to By Capture Time or By File Name

Once you are done with all of this editing, then you can set the custom sort order if you want.

• 2. Re: why do stacked photos move to the end of the timeline in Lightroom
            Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

There is a setting for that. It is in the Export dialog window but whatever you chose will be globally applied. You have to first select an image, click Export, in the Export to area select Same folder as original photo, check Add to This Catalog then Add to Stack and then select either Below original or Above Original.