11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2016 3:51 PM by Per Berntsen

Virtual Copies and PSD's

Russellina

I'm new to Lightroom and am having a hard time understanding the file handling. Pre-Lightroom I would finish my edits in Photoshop.  I would save that psd then also save several jpgs.  I'd save one jpg with the size adjustments, logo and sharpening for FB.  Another with the crop and output sharpening for a specific print size.  If the client wanted the same photo in different print sizes, I would create a jpg for each size.

So now in Lightroom I can't create jpgs, without causing a problem with my library.  I understand I should instead do this with Virtual Copies from my original psd. 

One copy that is re-sized for Facebook and stamped with my logo.  (I want to use my logo - not the basic watermark option of LR so I assume this must be done in Photoshop).

One copy that is cropped for the the correct print size and output sharpened with my Nik plugin. (I'd like to do this in PS so I can mask out sharpening on skin, sky, etc)

(Additional print copies as needed... )

I find that when I try to do this with a virtual copy, it just creates a 2nd and 3rd psd.

I thought if I created a virtual copy then chose "edit original" it would edit only the copy but it actually edits the original psd and every virtual copy made. 

Can I accomplish what I'm trying to do or do I need to go back to creating multiple jpgs?

Thank You so much for any help you can offer.  I'm really getting frustrated.

• 1. Re: Virtual Copies and PSD's
          Per Berntsen Adobe Community Professional

To create jpgs from your virtual copies, or from any files, you have to Export, you set quality, dimensions, sharpening, etc. in the Export dialog. You have to do cropping before you export.

To edit a PSD in Photoshop, you could export as PSD, which will create a new PSD, which will not interfere with your original PSD. (make sure to give it a unique name)