14 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2016 9:29 AM by Sorokaste

Premiere Elements 14 keeps crashing

Sorokaste

Sorry, I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to these kinds of things...

I just bought Premiere Elements 14 together with Photoshop Elements 14. Photoshop is working like a champ, but Premiere is acting pretty laggy, and it's always only a matter of time before I get a messege telling me that the program "has stopped working". Even though the video I'm editing is only 30 seconds long. I almost get the feeling that my computer can't handle the program, but I bought it less than a month ago and the guy at the store said that it should be fine to edit videos with it. Or was he wrong?

Computer info:

-System: Windows 10 (64 bit)

-CPU: AMD A8-7410 / 2.2 GHz

-8GB RAM

-1GB dedicated graphic memory

Not sure if you need more information (I have to translate the terms from Swedish), but let me know in that case.

The things I've tried so far is:

-Installed Quick Time (version 7.7.6)

-Installed Install Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2012 (as suggested here: Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements do not launch | Windows 10)

Is there something I'm missing here? Should Premiere work on my laptop, or is there perhaps something I've forgot to install?

Please answer as soon as you can. If my computer can't handle Premiere, I might have to return the product ASAP and see if I can get my money back...

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 14 keeps crashing
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

As you can see from this benchmark chart, your processor is rather marginal for high-def video editing. I usually recommend a rating of 5500 or more for smooth editing.

PassMark CPU Benchmarks - High Mid Range CPUs

But a lot depends on what model of camcorder your video is coming from and what format and resolution it is.