11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2016 5:40 PM by dj_paige

hello

konstantinosk9977683

since a week i am facing a really strange problem in my lightroom catalogue

i am a photography student and use a windows computer at home and a mac in school

my lightroom catalogue i s stored in my harddrive as well as all my pictures

my pictures are perfectly archived and i havent moved or changed anything

i find my self for the second time in the situation that i open my catalogue and all the pictures are not to be found

the exclamation mark in the right upper side of every picture

when i click the exclamation mark and i find the picture exactly where it was and indicates to me that the file was before i find my file and cllick as well find pictures in close location

the pictures are not found

does anyone know where the problem might be and what should i do to solve it ?

• 1. Re: hello
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The problem is that you are moving files/folders using Finder or Explorer rather than using the LR Library.

• 2. Re: hello
            konstantinosk9977683 Level 1

thank you for answering

but no i am not moving my files in finder

i do everything in lightroom

• 3. Re: hello
              dj_paige Level 9

i find my self for the second time in the situation that i open my catalogue and all the pictures are not to be found

the exclamation mark in the right upper side of every picture

Even if you have not moved the files, the way Mac and Windows computers reference the files on your hard disk are different, and so every time you move the disk with the photos you may find that the computers do not recognize the location. The only way I know of the fix the problem is to tell Lightroom to re-link to the photos. Here are the instructions: Adobe Lightroom - Find moved or missing files and folders

• 4. Re: hello

i just found the solution  and got all my files back together

through my yesterdays backup